Do you know the laws?

October 28, 2013

Penalty try!

by Len Kaplan

 

C’mon …you know the Laws! You’re the one in the pub, on the stand, on the touchline, who explains to your mates why the referee has blown his whistle or not blown his whistle, what the infringement was causing the penalty or free kick, who caused the scrum to collapse, why the player was or wasn’t offside, and the like; you’re the player who explains the Laws to his teammates, so here are three straight-forward questions on the Penalty Try Law for you to test yourself.

 

It’s easy. Just answer TRUE or FALSE each time.

 

(1) A penalty try is awarded when, but for foul play by the defending team, the referee’s judgement is that a try would definitely have been scored.

(2) A penalty try may be awarded after repeated infringements near their goal-line by the defending team.

(3) When the referee awards a penalty try and he can identify the defending player whose foul play offence caused the penalty try, he may at his discretion (a) warn that player not to commit a similar infringement again or (b) give him a yellow card or (c) give him a red card.

 

 

 

Let’s see if you got 3/3.

(1) False. The Law uses the word “probably” not definitely. Not merely possibly, not as certain as definitely, but probably.

(2) False. A penalty try is awarded for a specific offence which prevented a try which would otherwise probably have been scored.

(3) False. A player who prevents a try being scored through foul play must either be cautioned and temporarily suspended (i.e. yellow card) or sent off (i.e. red card). The Law uses the word “must”.

 

Did you have False as your answer to all three statements?

If so, well done – you do indeed know the Laws better than almost all of your mates and fellow players and coaches and the masses of spectators!

Rugby Cartoon Steelers (Small)

 

View More In This Category

UNION Sports Magazine is proudly brought to you by Union Sports Group

All content copyright UNION Sports Mag 2017

Site By NRDD